mrmpp_2016_webBallarat Writers is pleased to announce the winner of the 2016 Martha Richardson Memorial Poetry Prize, judged by acclaimed poet Emilie Zoey Baker.

The winner was “Christmas Day in Harlaxton” by Vanessa Page. You can read the winning poem here.

The four highly commended finalists were:

“Who’s Afraid of Virginia Wolf” by Gayelene Carbis

“Rules for the Dead” by Damen O’Brien

“In the Ear of the Beholder” by Ian Pettit

“Orange Blood” by Roger Vickery

The winner of the AU$1,500 prize was announced at the last Ballarat Writers meeting of 2016 on 30 November. Congratulations to Vanessa and the highly commended poets, and thanks to all who entered and supported the contest.

Ballarat Writers is due to run the Southern Cross Short Story Prize in 2017. Stay tuned for details in the new year.