As our awards presentation draws closer, Ballarat Writers is proud to present the shortlist for the 2017 Southern Cross Short Story Competition.

The shortlisted stories, and their authors, listed in alphabetical order according to the story’s title are:

Big Red                                              Fiona Lewin                         Carss Park NSW
Bounds                                              Tee Linden                            Sutherland NSW
Burned                                              Jane Smith                            Toowoomba Qld
Every Shiny Thing On Fire     Keren Heenan                    Montmorency Vic
Follow Suit                                      Maryanne Ross                  Redan Vic
Hole In The Wall                          Ron Schroer                        Canberra ACT
Pain                                                      Andrew Scobie                  Auburn NSW
Safari                                                  KW George                           Indooroopilly Qld
Shazza’s Sheep                              Tee Linden                            Sutherland NSW
The Beacon                                    Helen Carmody                  Stawell Vic
The Devil’s Food                         Susan Bennett                     Warragul Vic
The Man with The Dolphin Teeth          Suzannah Churchman      Perth WA
The Trials Of St Lurlene          Heather MacKenzie          Capalaba Qld

Please check out website after the 29th of November when the winners will be announced, or feel free to turn up to our final member night for the year to see the announcement live!