In 2015, Ballarat Writers introduced the Pamela Miller Prize, in memory of member Pamela Miller who was a prolific supporter (and winner!) of the flash fiction contest as well as of BWI in general. It is a members-only contest.

The inaugural prize was won by Meg Ross with her story Song of Complaint.

The 2016 prize, awarded for a flash fiction contest run in November, was won by Neville Hiatt.

The 2017 prize was won by Jennifer Pont.

The 2018 prize was won by Lois Gray.

The 2019 prize was won by Kirsty Hawkes

The 2020 prize was won by Polly Musgrove

The 2021 prize was won by Richenda Rudman.T

The 2022 prize was won by Roland Renyi: Something Overhead.

The 2023 prize was won by Nicole Kelly: The Artist


Pamela was a very active and prolific member of Ballarat Writers Inc. She was a writer of short stories and poetry and won the short story competition Murder at MADE (the then Museum of Democracy at Eureka), run by BWI and the Sisters in Crime Festival in July 2014. Early in 2015 Pamela wrote a very popular poem ‘Bronze Heads – The Prime Ministers Walk’, as part of the Poetry Pathways ekphrastic project run by BWI as part of the Begonia Festival. Pamela wrote many other notable works and was a keen entrant in the BWI’s Flash Fiction monthly competitions, which she won several times. Pamela died after a short illness in June 2015.